Search Knowledge Base by Keyword

Last updated on June 12, 2019

Saving your session

You are able to save and load sessions in VU.CITY allowing you to pick up where you left off the next time you log in. These sessions are called Projects, and can contain any or all of the following:

– Camera Studies;
– Imported Models;
– Object Remover;
– Building Highlighter;
– Starting Camera Location;
– Date and Time;
– Weather Profile.

To save a session, click Developments / Save Project:

You’ll notice tick boxes next to each aspect of your session that can be saved.

Note massing models built using the Create tool cannot be saved to a project, rather they are saved locally to your computer. See the Create documentation for more information.

Loading a previous session

To load a project, click Developments / Load Project:

There are 3 tabs in the Load Project menu. All Files shows you a combination of your own projects, and projects others have shared with you. My Files shows your personal projects only. Shared Files shows projects others have shared with you only. Once you select your project and click Load, you will be given options for which aspects of that session you wish to load:

Note every time you load a project, you are starting a new session. This means every time you load a project, any changes you’ve made in VU.CITY will be reset.

Managing your files

All of your saved models and projects are stored in VU.CITY Drive. So to download, delete, or share your models and projects, you will need to log into your dashboard and go to My Drive.

To find out more about managing and sharing projects and models, please see our VU.CITY Drive documentation here.

Privacy considerations

Saving, loading, and sharing in VU.CITY has been implemented with strong privacy control in mind. To prevent your models from from being downloaded or copied by other users, you can only ever save a model to a project file if you personally have imported it during that session. This means if another VU.CITY user shares a project with you via VU.CITY Drive, you can view it, however you will be unable to download the model, or save it into a project of your own.

As a consequence of this tight privacy measure, it does mean that if you imported a model yourself, and saved it as part of a project in a previous session, you too will be unable to save that model into a new project during a new session. It also means that you cannot update a project, rather you must re-import the original model and save a new project whenever changes are made that you wish to keep.

To find out more about managing and sharing projects and models, please see our VU.CITY Drive documentation here.

Where are my old View Camera studies?

Previous versions of VU.CITY stored your View Camera studies as CSV files located in your documents folder. They have now been integrated into project files stored in VU.CITY Drive. So to save your View Camera studies, you need to save your project.

If you have View Camera CSV files from a legacy version of VU.CITY, they can be converted into a project file for use in the latest release here.